Be Counted: Census Weekly Raffle

Share It.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter

Hello Emmitsburg and Other Northern Frederick County Residents!

One thing the pandemic has shown is just how important it is for every citizen to be counted. When determining the amount of federal aid for states–as well as state aid for individual counties, cities, and towns–officials use the data available to them: THE CENSUS!

For each citizen who is counted in the census, your community receives an average of $18500 over the next decade until the next census. That funding goes to a variety of services we all use: schools, senior centers, health facilities, roads and infrastructure, security and safety, and yes, resources to handle unexpected crisis such as our current Covid-19 crisis.

Many of you have taken the Census and been counted. But there are still may more, over 1,000 in Emmitsburg alone, who have not. It’s so easy to do online. Your personal data is safe and secure. And since it’s a Constitutional mandate to count each citizen, census takers will have to visit in person any household that hasn’t returned its form.

We encourage you to take the Census today if you haven’t already! As an added incentive, any Northern Frederick County Resident who can show proof of taking the Census will be entered in our weekly gift card drawings beginning June 12, 2020 through July 17, 2020. Prizes each week are:

  • June 12 – $20 Target
  • June 19 – $25 Visa
  • June 26 – $25 MasterCard
  • July 3 – Celebrating Our Patriotic Duty – $50 Kohl’s
  • July 10 – $30 Target
  • July 17 – $50 Visa

To show proof, you may take a screen shot or photo of the final confirmation page of the Census and email it to [email protected] with your full name and address, or send it via Facebook or Instagram messages. Once you enter, you are eligible each week until or unless you win. Everyone who enters will receive a small gift mailed to them.

If you decide to complete your Census form by mail, just take a snapshot of the completed form. You can blank out any personal info.

Only residents of Northern Frederick County are eligible to enter. This includes Emmitsburg, Thurmont, Sabillasville, Lewistown, Cascade, Keymar, New Midway, Ladiesburg, Legore, Rocky Ridge, Wolfsville, Foxville, Smithsburg, Woodsboro, and Creagerstown.